And so begins the week of leisure…

So I’ve been working. A lot.

It’s big hours (sometimes along the lines of 5am-10pm) and it involves travelling away from home for at least 4 days at a time, sometimes more. Don’t get me wrong – I love it and I’m not complaining – but this schedule has left me a little lacking in the leisure time department over the past few weeks.

Well this week that is all changing! The trains I’ve been working on are having a little rest to catch up on all their beauty sleep – so with no trains departing for 7 days I have an entire week of guilt-free (as in there’s no way I could be working so no need to think I should be picking up more shifts) time to enjoy the ‘finer’ things in life. Hoorah!

Now first things first – bring me a beverage!

I had a nice little welcoming committee when I arrived home after 4 days away – all of my housemates as well as some of their family and friends. We were all quite thirsty, now where to go?

Down in Yaletown there’s a cool little bar/restaurant of sorts called Section 3. Funny story – the bar actually used to be called ‘De Niros’ and was called this for years until one day Robert De Niro himself got word of this bar. He came to visit De Niros – unfortunately not to pose nicely by the Neon sign or to sign an awkward headshot for the wall – but to let them know he was suing them for using his name without permission! He sued the owners under ‘Section 3’ of some no doubt incredibly boring law, so they changed the name – and Section 3 was born.

It’s a funky little place – random light artworks cover the walls…

…and for some reason the bar has a huge neon ‘NERD’ sign hanging overhead – perhaps the interior designer felt the need to embrace their awkward teenage years?

Now Section 3 was decided as our first port of call on the night of my return to the world of leisure. I was particularly pleased at this choice after I arrived and saw a Rasberry mojito on the menu…

…one of those for me thank you!

It was a delicious, fruity, refreshing delight.

I couldn’t think of a better way to start of a week of leisure. Thank you Section 3 and hello Vancouver!

Leave a Reply

